A love like Carrie & Big

As I sit here listening to the eager four-beautiful women discuss all things female related. I cannot fathom my intial impressions of my first ever-watched episode(s) of Sex & the City. In theory many of us can relate to one of these four-women some even relate to all four. Whether it be their style, charisma, passion for life, enthusiasm for professional careers, or deep down yearning sensation for love. What Sex & the City has given young women all around the world is modern-day independent kick your Manolo Blahnik’s in the air don’t ever let a man define you attitude.

Relationships have become harder to untangle in this generation from experience. I can relate to Carrie & Big’s love. Most of have been there our first love we cannot seem to let go. We tend to fall back onto him/her because, well lets admit it. Its comfortable. Whether you may have had your first love in your early teen years, or in my case early twenties. There is a sense of relief not having to go through the stages of a relationship. The beginning awkward stage of dating, the middle comfort stage of getting to know one another, than comes the in-between nonsense and, lastly the one we all dislike the end.

I have come to respect my former significant other for a bond we have now better than we could have ever imagined. One of respect, love, and authentic friendship. However, now that I am in my late twenties I find that love has a different meaning than it did in my early twenties. Love, now is not that yearning desire to see the other person however, it is a clam soothing dance between to individuals who sway together rather than let the other lead.

My only problem with this generation is that many men & women have become lazy. Yes, down right lazy. With social media, modern day technology many have forgotten what it meant to actually court someone. Whether it be a man or a woman. This is in particular for the men. I remember when I first informed my Mother I was going on my first date. She was hesitate however, she informed me that if he opens the door for me he is a true gentleman. My Father on the other hand encouraged me to date so “I can tell the difference between a man & a boy”. See, he said “A man never lets his female companion pay for dinner”. We come from a strict Armenian background with traditional values which, I hold strongly even with my modern American ways.

Our generation seems to have preliminary interviews with one another much like a job interview in today’s market. You apply for a position via a social-media posting, you receive an email confirming a preliminary interview. Considering all the multiple applicants the employer(s) want to make sure they interview the most appropriate individuals for their job posting. You may or may not receive a phone interview. When, you pass this portion you receive your first interview. Than a second, or even a third to meet with the CEO or CFO. By the time you are hired the process has become a ball of fretfulness you wish you did not even click apply for.

This can be exhausting for both parties involved many of us don’t realize but, the lucky few fall in love with their dearest friends. We tend to get to comfortable within ourselves, our surroundings and most unquestionably with society. Men, get off your phones drive to see your significant other, open a damn door, put on a suit I promise you will look ever so dapper. The reason we love books like Fifty Shades of Grey isn’t only for the erotica. Christian Grey is the epitome of a woman’s enthrallment with a man. He wears a suit, is successful and knows how to court his lady. Next time you pick up your phone & text her (whomever she may be to you) ask yourself if you think she really wants to come over. Unless you have a candle-light dinner set, with an Epsom salt bath ready to massage her achy tired feet don’t bother wasting her time.

“I am someone who is looking for love. Real love. Ridiculous, inconvenient, consuming, can’t-live-without-each-other love.”

Carrie Bradshaw

 Image

Leave a Reply

